Secret Service

Cover of the book, Secret Service.

Written by:

Published by: Corgi

★★★★★
★★★★★

4.17, based on 245 reviews.

Goodreads says:

_______________________A Sunday Times top 10 bestseller, Secret Service is a fresh-from-the-headlines thriller for fans of Homeland, Crisis and

The Bodyguard.

______________________The world is on the brink of crisis. The Cold War is playing out once more on the global stage.The Worlds' governments will do whatever it takes to stay at the top… ______________________To those who don’t really know her, Kate Henderson’s life must seem perfectly ordinary. But she is in fact a senior MI6 officer, who right now is nursing the political equivalent of a nuclear bomb.Kate’s most recent mission has yielded the startling intelligence that the British Prime Minister has cancer – and that one of the leading candidates to replace him may be a Russian agent of influence.Up against the clock to uncover the Russian mole, Kate risks everything to get to the truth. But with her reputation to uphold, her family hanging by a thread and a leadership election looming, she is quickly running out of options, and out of time.

Waterstones says:

Secret Service is a no-holds-barred look at the service industry: its highs, its lows, the eccentric characters. From dangerous liaisons under dining tables to after-hours punch-ups, the UK's most famous maitre-d' Fred Sirieix spills the beans on this edgy industry in the front-of-house reply to Anthony Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential. With over 25 years' experience of charming guests at the world's top restaurants, Fred has seen it ALL. He can tell you how to get a table at a restaurant that's booked solid for months ahead, how to secure the best seat in the room, how to spot when you're being 'upsold'. And he's got all the gossip on what goes on behind the scenes - the furious paddling under the surface while the waiting staff glide effortlessly around the dining room. Fascinating, funny and touching, Fred's natural empathy, charm and candour make this an essential read for anyone who's ever stepped foot inside a restaurant - and he will inspire anyone ambitious to be a part of this extraordinary industry.


Rating breakdown

★★★★★
★★★★★
4.17 out of 5 stars (245 ratings)
5 41% (100 ratings)
4 42% (102 ratings)
3 13% (32 ratings)
2 2% (6 ratings)
1 2% (5 ratings)

About Tom Bradby

Tom Bradby is a British journalist and novelist. He has been political editor for ITV News since July 2005....
[Read more about Tom Bradby]


Search for another book