A Winter's Promise (The Mirror Visitor Quartet, #1)

Cover of the book, A Winter's Promise (The Mirror Visitor Quartet, #1).

Written by:

Translated by: Hildegarde Serle

Published by: Europa Editions

★★★★★
★★★★★

4.19, based on 11,710 reviews.

Goodreads says:

Volume 1 of The Mirror Visitor QuartetWinner of the Grand Prix de l’ImaginaireWhere once there was unity, vastly different worlds now exist. Over each, the spirit of an omnipotent and immortal ancestor abides.Long ago, following a cataclysm called the Rupture, the world was shattered into many floating celestial islands, known now as arks. Ophelia lives on Anima, where inhabitants can read the pasts of objects. What’s more, she is also a “mirror-traveler,” possessing an ability that has been passed down to her through generations. Her idyllic existence on Anima is disrupted when she is promised in marriage to Thorn, an influential member of a distant clan. Still only a girl, Ophelia must leave her family and follow her fiancé to Citaceleste, the capital of a cold and icy ark called Pole. But there, her future husband seems indifferent to her and she slowly realizes that her presence on Pole is part of a much bigger plot and has far-reaching ramifications not only for her but for her entire world.An unforgettable heroine, an insightful study of relationships, a rich and bountiful universe, intrigue and suspense, A Winter’s Promise is perfect for readers of Margaret Rogerson, Scott Westerfeld, Melissa Albert, and N.K. Jemisin.

Waterstones says:

I think we could have all lived happily, in a way, God, me and the others, if it weren’t for that accursed book. It disgusted me. I knew what bound me to it in the most sickening of ways, but the horror of that particular knowledge came later, much later. I didn’t understand straight away, I was too ignorant.

Lose yourself in the fantastic world of the arks and in the company of unforgettable characters in this French runaway hit, Christelle Dabos’ The Mirror Visitor quartet.

Long ago, following a cataclysm called the Rupture, the world was shattered into many floating celestial islands, now known as arks. Over each, the spirit of an omnipotent and immortal ancestor abides. The inhabitants of these arks each possess a unique power. Ophelia, with her ability to read the pasts of objects, must navigate this fantastic, disjointed, perilous world using her trademark tenacity and quiet strength.

Plain-spoken, headstrong Ophelia cares little about appearances. Her ability to read the past of objects is unmatched in all of Anima and, what’s more, she possesses the ability to travel through mirrors, a skill passed down to her from previous generations.

Her idyllic life is disrupted, however, when she is promised in marriage to Thorn, a taciturn and influential member of a distant clan. Ophelia must leave all she knows behind and follow her fiancé to Citaceleste, the capital of a cold, icy ark known as the Pole, where danger lurks around every corner and nobody can be trusted.

There, in the presence of her inscrutable future husband, Ophelia slowly realizes that she is a pawn in a political game that will have far-reaching ramifications not only for her but for her entire world.


Rating breakdown

★★★★★
★★★★★
4.19 out of 5 stars (11,710 ratings)
5 44% (5,094 ratings)
4 38% (4,428 ratings)
3 14% (1,611 ratings)
2 4% (441 ratings)
1 1% (136 ratings)

About Christelle Dabos

Christelle Dabos est née en 1980 sur la Côte d’Azur et a grandi dans un foyer empli de musique classique et d’énigmes historiques. Plus imaginative que cérébrale, elle commence à gribouiller ses premiers textes sur les bancs de la faculté. Installée en Belgique, elle se destine à être bibliothécaire quand la maladie survient. L’écriture devient alors une évasion hors de la machinerie médicale, puis une lente reconstruction et enfin une seconde nature. Elle bénéficie pendant...
[Read more about Christelle Dabos]


Search for another book